

Metropolitan North Georgia Water Planning District **EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE Minutes** September 6, 2012

The Executive Committee of the Metropolitan North Georgia Water Planning District Governing Board met on Thursday, September 6, 2012 at 9:00 a.m. in the Harry West Room at the Atlanta Regional Commission offices in Atlanta, Georgia.

Members Present

Hon. Boyd Austin, Chairman Clayton County Designee: Mr. Mike Thomas Ms. Katie Kirkpatrick, Vice Chair DeKalb County Designee: Mr. Ted Rhinehart Hon. Tim Lee, Cobb County Fulton County Designee: Mr. Nick Ammons City of Atlanta Designee: Ms. Jo Ann Macrina Gwinnett County Designee: Mr. Ron Peters Cherokee County Designee: Mr. David Kubala

Members Not Present

Mr. Birdel Jackson, Secretary/Treasurer Hon. Elizabeth 'BJ' Mathis

Others Present

Ms. Judy Skeel, Cobb County Designee Mr. Tim Equels Commissioner Liz Hausmann Ms. Linda Johnson Mr. Rick Brownlow Mr. Edward Lindeman Mr. Mike Walker, Ocmulgee BAC Dr. Gail Cowie

Mr. Skin Edge Mr. Ray Wooten

Chairman Boyd Austin called the meeting to order.

Approve Meeting Minutes

Chairman Austin called for a motion to approve the minutes. A motion to approve the June 7, 2012 meeting minutes was made by Vice Chair Katie Kirkpatrick, seconded by Mr. Mike Thomas and passed unanimously.

Recommendation to Send Proposed Amendments to the Model Floodplain Management / Flood Damage Protection Ordinance out for Public Review

The Metro Water District received a request from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) to modify the Model Floodplain Management/Flood Damage Prevention Ordinance in the Watershed Management Plan. The suggested changes are intended to bring the model ordinance in line with more recent changes in federal guidelines and definitions.

The Technical Coordinating Committee - Stormwater Subcommittee made comments on the proposed amendments in August, and District staff has discussed the TCC's questions with

Metropolitan North Georgia Water Planning District September 6, 2012 Executive Committee Meeting Notes and Minutes Page 2

FEMA. Staff recommends the proposed changes to the model ordinance be categorized as a major amendment as these changes are regional in nature and affect every jurisdiction within the Metro Water District. A motion was made by Mr. David Kubala to release the proposed changes to the model ordinance for a 30-day public review and comment period. The motion was seconded by Vice Chair Katie Kirkpatrick and passed unanimously.

Wastewater Plan Amendment Discussion Regarding Fulton County Cauley Creek Reuse Facility

At the request of Chairman Austin, Fulton County made a presentation regarding its proposal to close the Cauley Creek Water Reuse Facility and transfer the wastewater to the John's Creek Environmental Campus. Chairman Austin had ruled that the proposal would require a major plan amendment according to the District's guidelines, but provided an opportunity for them to explain otherwise. After Mr. Ammons' presentation, a discussion ensued that included funding, timeline for completion, capacity at the John's Creek Campus, and stakeholder comments. Chairman Austin stated that his foremost concern was the integrity of the District Plan, and the credibility of the District, and that the District's Wastewater Management Plan includes the Cauley Creek Facility for the entire planning period. In addition to the elimination of the major reuse component of the Plan, he asserted increased and more concentrated effluent from a single facility, an apparent disregard for the tiered rate system, the proposed reduction in irrigation pricing, and increased withdrawals from the Chattahoochee River, as the basis for his determination.

Basin Advisory Council Membership Update

Ms. Sarah Simmons reviewed the Basin Advisory Council Membership Update memo. The District received two new applications for membership. District staff recommends that these individuals be approved for membership. Mr. David Kubala made a motion which was seconded by Katie Kirkpatrick to approve the applicants as new members. The motion was passed unanimously.

Ms. Simmons also explained that according to the Basin Advisory Council Operating Procedures, if a member misses three consecutive meetings, they will be reviewed for removal. Three Basin Advisory Councils members failed to attend the last three meetings held in January, April and July 2012. District staff recommends these members be removed. A motion was made by Mr. David Kubala and seconded by Tim Lee to remove the three members indicated. The motion was passed unanimously.

There being no other business the meeting was adjourned.