

Metropolitan North Georgia Water Planning District GOVERNING BOARD Minutes May 27, 2020

The Metropolitan North Georgia Water Planning District Governing Board met on Wednesday, May 27, 2020 at 10:00 a.m. through an online web-conference.

Members Present

Ms. Katie Kirkpatrick, Vice Chair Mr. Birdel Jackson, Treasurer Hon. Harry Johnston Dr. Mark Berry Ms. Pamela Burnett Mr. Brad Currey Ms. Kit Dunlap Mr. Glenn Page Mr. Gerald Pouncey Mr. Tim Thoms Clayton County Designee: Mr. Bernard Franks Cobb County Designee: Mr. Eric Olson Coweta County Designee: Mr. Jay Boren Douglas County Designee: Mr. Gil Shearouse Fayette County Designee: Ms. Vanessa Tigert Forsyth County Designee: Mr. Tim Perkins Fulton County Designee: Mr. Nick Ammons Gwinnett County Designee: Mr. Kevin Farrell Paulding County Designee: Mr. Boyd Austin Hall County Designee: Ms. Linda MacGregor Henry County Designee: Mr. Tony Carnell

Members Not Present

Hon. Keisha Lance Bottoms Hon. Steve Taylor Hon. Michael Thurmond Hon. Oz Nesbitt

Vice Chair Katie Kirkpatrick called the meeting to order.

Vice Chair Kirkpatrick presented the December 4, 2019 Board meeting minutes for approval. A motion to approve the meeting minutes was made by Mr. Bernard Franks. The motion was seconded by Dr. Mark Berry and passed without opposition.

Mr. Danny Johnson presented an overview of the 2019 Comprehensive Annual Report and Audit.

Vice Chair Kirkpatrick presented the remaining schedule of Board meeting dates for 2020.

Vice Chair Kirkpatrick announced that 21 applicants for Basin Advisory Council (BAC) membership were approved during the Executive Committee meeting.

Mr. Birdel Jackson presented the 2020 Budget Revision for approval. Mr. Jackson made a motion to approve the 2020 Budget Revision. The motion was seconded by Dr. Berry and passed without opposition.

Mr. Birdel Jackson presented the 2021 Budget and Work Program for approval. A board member requested that the line item for State Appropriations be increased from \$0 to \$172,000. A motion to table the action was made by Mr. Boyd Austin. The motion was seconded by Ms. Pam Burnett and passed without opposition.

Vice Chair Kirkpatrick requested that in light of current COVID-19 conditions & decreased revenues for some counties, the District should evaluate action items that may have become outdated or no longer fit our present circumstances to see whether any make sense to be amended.

Mr. Glenn Page requested that the District review the proposed scope of work for the Water Resource Management Plan Update and consider including a forecast for water plant residuals alongside the forecast for wastewater biosolids.

Mr. Andrew Morris presented a proposal regarding small community plan implementation.

Mr. Austin presented the Nominating Committee's recommendations for the District Chair, Vice Chair, and Secretary/Treasurer. The committee recommended Mr. Glenn Page as Chair, Ms. Katie Kirkpatrick as Vice Chair, and Dr. Mark Berry as Secretary/Treasurer. A motion to approve the slate of board members for election was made by Mr. Austin. The motion was seconded by Mr. Gil Shearouse and passed without opposition.

Ms. Katherine Zitsch presented an overview of water supply conditions, near term forecasts, and litigation status.

Ms. Justine Schwartz presented the winners of the 2020 High School Video Contest. This year's winners for both the English and Spanish contests included:

1st Place Winner – English - Lihee Freeman – Alpharetta High School, Fulton County 1st Place Winner – Spanish - Itandehui Cruz – Heritage High School, Rockdale County 2nd Place Winner – English - Reece Moseley – Mill Creek High School, Gwinnett County 2nd Place Winner – Spanish - Jayasri Mankan – South Forsyth High School, Forsyth County

There being no further business, Vice Chair Kirkpatrick adjourned the meeting.