

Metropolitan North Georgia Water Planning District GOVERNING BOARD Minutes December 8, 2021

The Metropolitan North Georgia Water Planning District Governing Board met on Wednesday, December 8, 2021 at 10:00 a.m. through an online web-conference.

Members Present

Mr. Glenn Page, Chairman City of Atlanta Designee: Ms. Mikita Browning Dr. Mark Berry, Secretary/Treasurer Bartow County Designee: Mr. Sidney Forsyth Hon. Harry Johnston Clayton County Designee: Mr. Bernard Franks Hon. Lisa Cupid Douglas County Designee: Mr. Gil Shearouse Hon. Dub Pearman Fulton County Designee: Mr. Nick Ammons Hon. Cindy Jones Mills Hall County Designee: Mr. Srikanth Yamala Hon. Nicole Love Hendrickson Henry County Designee: Mr. Tony Carnell Paulding County Designee: Mr. Boyd Austin Ms. Pamela Burnett Mr. Gerald Pouncey Rockdale County Designee: Mr. Derek Bogan Mr. Tim Thoms

Members Not Present

Ms. Katie Kirkpatrick, Vice Chair Mr. Brad Currey
Hon. Michael Thurmond Ms. Kit Dunlap
Hon. Edward Johnson Mr. Birdel Jackson

Chairman Glenn Page called the meeting to order.

Welcome New Board Members

Chairman Page welcomed Alfred John, Chairman of the Forsyth County Board of Commissioners, and Richard Higgins, Chairman of the Hall County Board of Commissioners, to the Governing Board. Chairman Page announced that because of Forsyth County and Hall County both having reached the minimum population threshold of 200,000 as of the 2020 census, the commission chairs will now hold the permanent position for their counties.

Public Comment Period

Linda MacGregor provided public comment regarding the welcome to new board members.

Approve Meeting Minutes

Chairman Page presented the September 8, 2021 meeting minutes for approval. No revisions were offered. Mr. Nick Ammons made a motion to approve the meeting minutes. The motion was seconded by Hon. Dub Pearman and passed without opposition.

Chairman's Update

Legislative Policy Committee

Chairman Page provided a list of the named members of the 2022 Legislative Policy Committee. The Legislative Policy Committee members include Chairman Page, Vice Chair Katie Kirkpatrick, Treasurer/Secretary Dr. Mark Berry, Hon. Andre Dickens, Hon. Lisa Cupid, Hon. Ramona Jackson Jones, Hon. Nicole Love Hendrickson, Ms. Pam Burnett, Ms. Kit Dunlap, Mr. Gerald Pouncey, and Mr. Tim Thoms.

District's 20th Anniversary

Board members reflected on the District's 20th Anniversary Celebration Event and viewed videos from the Metro Water District and Governor Brian Kemp.

2021 STREAM Award Winners

Ms. Katherine Zitsch presented the winners of the 2021 STREAM Awards as follows: Water Supply – City of Atlanta Bellwood Quarry and Tunnel Project, Watershed – City of Gainesville's Stormwater Program, Education - DeKalb County Department of Watershed Management's No FOG, No Clog Campaign, Education Honorable Mentions – City of Roswell and Henry County Water Authority.

Schedule for 2022

Chairman Page noted the next Board meeting will be the 2022 Board Retreat on February 10, 2022 in Gwinnett County.

Executive Report

2022 Finance Committee Membership

Chairman Page presented the slate of 2022 Finance Committee Members for board consideration which included Chairman Page, Vice Chair Kirkpatrick, Treasurer/Secretary Dr. Berry (Committee Chair), Hon. Cupid, Hon. Mike Thurmond, Hon. Carlotta Harrell, Hon. Hendrickson, Hon. David Carmichael, and Mr. Pouncey. Mr. Ammons made a motion to approve the 2022 Finance Committee Membership. The motion was seconded by Mr. Tim Thoms and passed without opposition.

2021 Year End Budget Revision

Treasurer Dr. Berry presented the 2021 Year End Budget Revision for approval. Hon. Pearman made a motion to approve the 2021 Year End Budget Revision. The motion was seconded by Hon. Lisa Cupid and passed without opposition.

BAC New Member Approval

Chairman Page announced that five applicants for Basin Advisory Council (BAC) membership were approved during the Executive Committee meeting.

Staff Updates

Education Update

Metropolitan North Georgia Water Planning District December 8, 2021 Governing Board Meeting Minutes Page 3

Ms. Sarah Skinner provided an overview of ongoing education activities and contests including the 2022 Calendar Photo Contest, the 2021 Middle School Essay Contest, and the 2022 Water Drop Dash (10th Anniversary).

2022 Water Resource Management Plan Update

Mr. Danny Johnson provided a schedule update for the 2022 Water Resource Management Plan Update and highlighted ongoing coordination efforts with the neighboring regional water councils. Mr. Andrew Morris presented the proposed updated and new water conservation action items under development. Ms. Katherine Atteberry presented an overview of the stormwater forecast. Mr. Johnson presented a list of potential concepts for managing septic flows in relation to water quantity.

Water Supply Status / Litigation Update

Ms. Katherine Zitsch presented an overview of water supply and litigation status.

There being no further business, Chairman Page adjourned the meeting.