

Metropolitan North Georgia Water Planning District GOVERNING BOARD Minutes December 2, 2020

The Metropolitan North Georgia Water Planning District Governing Board met on Wednesday, December 2, 2020 at 10:00 a.m. through an online web-conference.

Members Present

Mr. Glenn Page, Chairman Ms. Katie Kirkpatrick, Vice Chair Dr. Mark Berry, Secretary/Treasurer Hon. Harry Johnston Hon. June Wood Ms. Pamela Burnett Mr. Brad Currey Mr. Gerald Pouncey Mr. Tim Thoms City of Atlanta Designee: Ms. Mikita Browning Bartow County Designee: Mr. Lamont Kiser Clayton County Designee: Mr. Bernard Franks Cobb County Designee: Mr. Eric Olson Douglas County Designee: Mr. Gil Shearouse Fayette County Designee: Ms. Vanessa Tigert Forsyth County Designee: Mr. Tim Perkins Fulton County Designee: Mr. Nick Ammons Gwinnett County Designee: Mr. Kevin Farrell Hall County Designee: Ms. Linda MacGregor Paulding County Designee: Mr. Boyd Austin

Members Not Present

Hon. Paul Poole Hon. Michael Thurmond Hon. Oz Nesbitt Ms. Kit Dunlap Mr. Birdel Jackson

Chairman Glenn Page called the meeting to order.

Public Comment Period

No public comments were provided.

Approve Meeting Minutes

Chairman Page presented the August 26, 2020 meeting minutes for approval. No revisions were offered. Vice Chair Katie Kirkpatrick made a motion to approve the meeting minutes. The motion was seconded by Mr. Kevin Farrell and passed without opposition.

Chairman's Update

Recognition of Board Members

Chairman Page recognized the board members who will be rolling off at the end of this year including Cobb County Chairman Mike Boyce, Fayette County Chairman Randy Ognio, former

Metropolitan North Georgia Water Planning District December 2, 2020 Governing Board Meeting Minutes Page 2

District Board Chairman and Gwinnett County Chairman Charlotte Nash, and Henry County Chair June Wood. Chairman Page thanked these members for their leadership and service to the Board.

Education Update

Chairman Page provided an update on the 2021 Calendar Photo Contest, 2020 Middle School Essay Contest, and the 2021 Water Drop Dash 5K race.

Legislative Policy Committee

Chairman Page provided a list of the named members of the 2021 Legislative Policy Committee. The Legislative Policy Committee members include: Chairman Page, Vice Chair Katie Kirkpatrick, Treasurer/Secretary Dr. Mark Berry, Hon. Keisha Lance Bottoms, Hon. Lisa Cupid, Hon. Ramona Jackson Jones, Hon. Nicole Love Hendrickson, Ms. Pam Burnett, Ms. Kit Dunlap, Mr. Gerald Pouncey, and Mr. Tim Thoms.

Schedule for 2021

Chairman Page noted the next Board meeting will be held on March 3, 2021 and presented the remaining schedule of Board meeting dates for 2021.

Executive Committee Report

2021 Finance Committee Membership

Chairman Page presented the slate of 2021 Finance Committee Members for board consideration which included Chairman Page, Vice Chair Kirkpatrick, Treasurer/Secretary Dr. Berry (Committee Chair), Hon. Cupid, Hon. Mike Thurmond, Hon. Carlotta Harrell, Hon. Hendrickson, Hon. David Carmichael, and Mr. Pouncey. Mr. Boyd Austin made a motion to approve the 2021 Finance Committee Membership. The motion was seconded by Mr. Tim Perkins and passed without opposition.

BAC New Member Approval

Chairman Page announced that five applicants for Basin Advisory Council (BAC) membership were approved during the Executive Committee meeting.

Water Resource Management Plan Amendments – Action Items

Mr. Andrew Morris presented proposed amendments to Action Items within the Water Resource Management Plan. Mr. Thoms made a motion to approve without further changes four proposed plan amendments for the following Action Items: WSWC Action Item-9: Pre-Rinse Spray Valve Replacement Program, WSWC Action Item-8: Commercial Water Use Assessments, WSWC Action Item-6: Toilet Replacement Program, and Watershed Action Item-11: Macroinvertebrate Bioassessment. The motion was seconded by Ms. Burnett and passed without opposition.

Mr. Thoms made a second motion to approve with suggested clarifications and revisions the amendment addressing recommended action items for small communities. The motion was seconded by Mr. Eric Olson and passed without opposition.

Water Resource Management Plan Amendment – City of Fayetteville

Metropolitan North Georgia Water Planning District December 2, 2020 Governing Board Meeting Minutes Page 3

Mr. Danny Johnson presented the proposed amendment to the Water Resource Management Plan as requested by the City of Fayetteville. Vice Chair Kirkpatrick made a motion to approve the amendment. The motion was seconded by Mr. Nick Ammons. The Board voted to approve the amendment with Ms. Burnett, Mr. Thoms, and Ms. Vanessa Tigert voting to object.

2020 Year End Budget Revision

Treasurer Dr. Berry presented the 2020 Year End Budget Revision for approval. Mr. Perkins made a motion to approve the 2020 Year End Budget Revision. The motion was seconded by Mr. Boyd Austin and passed without opposition.

Water Supply Status / Litigation Update

Ms. Katherine Zitsch presented an overview of water supply conditions and litigation status.

2022 Water Resource Management Plan Update

Mr. Johnson provided a schedule update for the 2022 Water Resource Management Plan Update.

WaterSense Partnership

Veronica Blette, Chief of the USEPA WaterSense program, presented an overview of the WaterSense program and recognized the District for its effort to promote WaterSense labeled products.

Drought Tolerant Sod Initiatives

Dr. Brian Schwartz, with the University of Georgia Extension Service, presented an overview of the development and marketing of TIFTUF drought tolerant sod.

Mr. Thoms made a motion to direct District staff to investigate a suite of potential concepts for promoting the installation of drought tolerant sods, such as TIFTUF, and present the suite to the board for further discussion. The motion was seconded by Mr. Austin and passed without opposition.

Septic Policy

Mr. Thoms made a motion to direct District staff to investigate a suite of potential concepts for managing septic flows in relation to water quantity and present the suite to the board for further discussion. The motion was seconded by Vice Chair Kirkpatrick and passed without opposition.

There being no further business, Chairman Page adjourned the meeting.