

Metropolitan North Georgia Water Planning District **GOVERNING BOARD Minutes September 14, 2022**

The Metropolitan North Georgia Water Planning District Governing Board met on Wednesday, September 14, 2022, at 10:00 a.m. in the Harry West Board Room at the Atlanta Regional Commission office in Atlanta, Georgia and via Microsoft Teams.

Members Present

Mr. Glenn Page, Chairman Bartow County Designee: Mr. Sidney Forsyth Clayton County Designee: Mr. Bernard Franks Dr. Mark Berry, Secretary/Treasurer Hon. Harry Johnston Douglas County Designee: Mr. Gil Shearouse Hon. Lisa Cupid Forsyth County Designee: Mr. Barry Lucas Hon. Nicole Love Hendrickson Hall County Designee: Mr. Srikanth Yamala Hon. Dub Pearman Henry County Designee: Mr. Tony Carnell Rockdale County Designee: Mr. Kimbry Peek Ms. Pamela Burnett

Mr. Birdel Jackson Mr. Gerald Pouncey Mr. Tim Thoms

Members Not Present

Ms. Katie Kirkpatrick, Vice Chair Hon. James Kelly Hon. Andrew Dickens

Hon. Mike Thurmond Hon. Edward Johnson

Hon. Rob Pitts

Ms. Kit Dunlap

Chairman Glenn Page called the meeting to order.

Welcome New Board Members

Chairman Page welcomed Hon. James Kelly, Mayor of Dallas, GA as Paulding County's newest Governing Board Member and Kimbry Peek, the newly named designee for Rockdale County to the Governing Board.

Public Comment Period

Mr. Steve Williams provided public comments related to an agenda item.

Approve Meeting Minutes

Metropolitan North Georgia Water Planning District September 14, 2022, Governing Board Meeting Minutes Page 2

Chairman Page presented the June 1, 2022, meeting minutes for approval. No revisions were offered. Mr. Gil Shearouse made a motion to approve the meeting minutes. The motion was seconded by Mr. Tony Carnell and passed without opposition.

Chairman's Update

Schedule for 2022

Chairman Page noted the next Board meeting will be held on December 14, 2022, and presented the remaining schedule of Board, BAC, and TCC meeting dates for 2022.

Recognize Board Member Transitions

Chairman Page recognized Paulding County Chairman David Carmichael and his designee, Mr. Boyd Austin, who will be rolling off the board as of June 30, 2022. The Paulding County board position will be rotating to the Mayor of Dallas, Georgia on July 1, 2022, for a three-year term.

Georgia Climatology Update

The Governing Board heard an update on the status of Georgia climate from the State of Georgia's Climatologist, Bill Murphey.

District/ARC Administrative and Staff Services Agreement Overview

Mr. Danny Johnson presented an overview of the District's administrative and staff services agreement with the Atlanta Regional Commission.

2022 Water Resources Management Plan Public Comment Summary

Mr. Johnson presented a report on the results from the 30-day public comment period for the 2022 Water Resources Management Plan.

Local Drought Planning Guide Available

Ms. Celine Benoit presented a report on the District's newly developed Local Drought Planning Guide.

Discussion of the Bradley N. Currey, Jr. Award

Mr. Tim Thoms presented the concept for Bradley N. Currey, Jr. Award to the Board for discussion. Mr. Tim Toms made a motion to create the Bradley N. Currey, Jr. Award. The motion was seconded by Ms. Pam Burnett and passed without opposition.

Georgia Environmental Finance Authority Update

Mr. Hunter Hill, the Executive Director of the Georgia Environmental Finance Authority (GEFA), presented an overview on the current programs offered by GEFA.

There being no further business, Chairman Page adjourned the meeting.