Regional Planning

Water resource planning is most effective when it addresses the interrelationships among water resource systems, including water supplies, quality, facilities and infrastructure.


2022 Plan Update

2022 Water Management Plan

Why regional planning?

The District works with its partner communities to develop a regional plan that looks at water management in a holistic fashion, helping meet the future needs of our region while protecting water quality and supply in the District as well as downstream communities.

Planning addresses current and future needs while considering implications for water supply, treatment, reuse, watershed health, water quality, instream flows, community well-being and fiscal conditions.

The Water Resources Management Plan, developed with robust stakeholder input, includes a range of actions that build on the Metro Water District’s water conservation and management achievements.

The Metro North Georgia Water Planning District includes 15 counties and 96 cities.

Coordinated Statewide Planning

The Metropolitan North Georgia Water Planning District coordinates our region’s plan development with water planning for other regions throughout the state. The adoption of the Georgia State-wide Water Management Plan by the Georgia General Assembly in 2008 led to the creation of new regional Water Planning Councils around the state, and the District is now one of eleven regional Water Planning Councils in Georgia.


The Metro Water District is one of 11 regional water districts in the state and encompasses six river basins.

Our Regional Partners

Working with local governments, water and wastewater utilities, and stakeholders, we develop a comprehensive regional water resources management plan to protect water quality, supply, and provide recreational value for the communities of our region and those downstream. We rely on science, data and good stewardship to guide our comprehensive approach to managing water for the economic, environmental and social well-being of our region.

Our partners extend well beyond local water providers and government agencies. We value support from many businesses, nonprofits, advocacy groups, professional organizations, and other advocates who help us effectively manage and protect our water resources.


  • Bartow County
  • Cherokee County
  • Clayton County
  • Cobb County
  • Coweta County
  • DeKalb County
  • Douglas County
  • Fayette County
  • Forsyth County
  • Fulton County
  • Gwinnett County
  • Hall County
  • Henry County
  • Paulding County
  • Rockdale County


  • Cherokee County Water and Sewerage Authority
  • Clayton County Water Authority
  • Cobb County Marietta Water Authority
  • Coweta County Water and Sewerage Authority
  • Douglas County Water and Sewer Authority
  • Henry County Water Authority
  • Middle Chattahoochee Regional Water and Sewer Authority
  • Peachtree City Water and Sewerage Authority


  • Acworth
  • Adairsville
  • Alpharetta
  • Atlanta
  • Auburn
  • Austell
  • Avondale Estates
  • Ball Ground
  • Berkeley Lake
  • Braswell
  • Brookhaven
  • Brooks
  • Buford
  • Canton
  • Cartersville
  • Chamblee
  • Chattahoochee Hills
  • Clarkston
  • Clermont
  • College Park
  • Conyers
  • Cumming
  • Dacula
  • Dallas
  • Decatur
  • Doraville
  • Douglasville
  • Duluth
  • Dunwoody
  • East Point
  • Emerson
  • Euharlee
  • Fairburn
  • Fayetteville
  • Flowery Branch
  • Forest Park
  • Gainesville
  • Gillsville
  • Grantville
  • Grayson
  • Hampton
  • Hapeville
  • Haralson
  • Hiram
  • Holly Springs
  • Johns Creek
  • Jonesboro
  • Kennesaw
  • Kingston
  • Lake City
  • Lawrenceville
  • Lilburn
  • Lithonia
  • Locust Grove
  • Lovejoy
  • Lula
  • Mabelton
  • Marietta
  • McDonough
  • Milton
  • Moreland
  • Morrow
  • Mountain Park
  • Nelson
  • Newnan
  • Norcross
  • Oakwood
  • Palmetto
  • Peachtree City
  • Peachtree Corners
  • Pine Lake
  • Powder Springs
  • Rest Haven
  • Riverdale
  • Roswell
  • Sandy Springs
  • Senoia
  • Sharpsburg
  • Smyrna
  • Snellville
  • South Fulton
  • Stockbridge
  • Stonecrest
  • Stone Mountain
  • Sugar Hill
  • Suwanee
  • Taylorsville
  • Tucker
  • Turin
  • Tyrone
  • Union City
  • Villa Rica
  • Waleska
  • White
  • Woodstock
  • Woolsey
Toggle Navigation